Nominees announced for Burlington’s Best awards, gala tickets on sale

Congratulation to all the nominees, including Look Local’s own contributor, Denise Davy!

burlingtonbestThe City of Burlington is announcing the nominees for the 2014 Burlington’s Best Awards and will reveal the selected outstanding citizens at a gala event on May 15.

People from across Burlington are invited to join volunteers and community leaders on Thursday, May 15, 2014 at 6:30 p.m. at the Burlington Convention Centre, 1120 Burloak Dr., for the awards.

“Each Burlington’s Best nominee helps make Burlington a better place for all of us,” said Keith Strong, past Citizen of the Year winner and long-time member of the awards committee. “We’re pleased with the buzz building around Burlington’s Best awards. With an impressive group of nominees and an exciting ceremony ahead of us, this year’s awards promise to help raise awareness of the importance of volunteering in the community.”

Tickets to this event are $35 per person, and a table of 10 is $280. The event includes a light buffet and cocktail reception. Tickets are available from the clerks department at City Hall, 426 Brant St., by contacting Roxanne Gosse at 905-335-7600, ext. 7855 or by emailing

For more information, or a complete list of categories and past winners, see  All award winners will be announced at the event. This year’s nominees are:

Citizen of the Year

  • Bev Jacobs
  • Judy Gerdes
  • Denise Davy
  • Jean Longfield
  • Beth Hudson

Senior Person of the Year

  • Michael Hourigan
  • Maggie Wheeler
  • Arnold Koopman
  • Thelma McGillivray

Junior Citizen of the Year

  • Chad Buisman
  • Connor Fraser
  • Curtis Kelly
  • Connor Withers
  • Justin McNerny
  • Gabriella Paniccia

Arts Person of the Year

  • Selina Jane Eckersall
  • Chris Giroux
  • Tomy Bewick
  • Jonathon Filipovic

Heritage Person of the Year

  • Les Armstrong

Community Service Award

  • John Ives
  • Tomy Bewick
  • Wellington Square Outreach Team
  • Les Armstrong
  • Gordon Cameron
  • Trent Schwartz
  • Beth Hudson

Environmental Award

  • Paul Toffoletti
  • Ken Woodruff


Leave a Reply